Posted by: Lea | July 29, 2009

Mindfulness

While reading Dr. Jay’s latest posts on Yoga for Cynics I became curious about a name he mentioned, Jon Kabat-Zinn. So I did a search on the internet and came across a video of Jon Kabat-Zinn giving a talk at Google on Mindfulness.

What a delight it was listening to this man. He explains why we should take time for meditation, to be mindful (have awareness) of ourselves, other people and our world as we go through our journey called life. I even laughed in a few parts. Jon Kaba-Zinn is definitely not a boring speaker.

He is able to make the concepts of meditation and mindfulness understandable to people who have never meditated, are beginners and have meditated for years. It was enjoyable to listen to his perspectives and antidotes.

The video is a little over an hour in length, but is well worth watching in its entirety. He even does a short guided meditation that you can do with him if you choose. If you don’t have the time to watch it now, you might want to bookmark it, so you can come back at a more convenient time.

Mindfulness with Jon Kabat-Zinn

In case you’re wondering what book was shown during the introduction of Jon, it’s Full Catastrophe Living

Responses

  1. Despite having read his books (well, Full Catastrophe Living, and I’m half way through Wherever You Go There You Are, from which I got the recent quotes in my blog) I’ve never seen or heard Kabat-Zinn before, so thanks for posting this. What’s great about him is that he’s so completely accessible–talking in the most workaday terms.

  2. Despite having read his books (well, Full Catastrophe Living, and I’m half way through Wherever You Go There You Are, from which I got the recent quotes in my blog) I’ve never seen or heard Kabat-Zinn before, so thanks for posting this. What’s great about him is that he’s so completely accessible–talking in the most workaday terms.

  3. Thanks for the introduction. Great experience!

  4. Thanks for the introduction. Great experience!


Categories

