Posted by: Lea | June 13, 2009

Animated Earth-Gaia

How much time do you spend out in nature? Mowing your lawn in the suburbs, playing baseball, soccer, football or shooting hoops outdoors isn’t what I mean. I’m talking about being in places that are absent of pavement or cement with few, if any, buildings and has more than grass or sand. I’m referring to true nature, with a variety of plants such as flowers, bushes and trees, maybe a pond, stream or river and so on.

Can you remember the last time you were really in a nature setting? How did you feel during your time in a truly natural part of our world and afterward? My daughter and I like going for walks and taking time to be aware of our natural surroundings where we live. The energy is so healing and positive, it’s wonderful to feel. It energizes us and though we are tired by the time we arrive back home, we feel terrific. Perhaps that’s why Stephan Harding’s perspectives on nature and our planet resonates with me. Stephan Harding shares his professional background and his perspectives on nature, and mankind’s influence on it, in the video below.

Can mankind change its perspectives in time to make the urgent changes that are needed for the sake of nature?

Stephan Harding, author of Animate Earth, with Gaia Theory

Responses

  1. If I don’t get out in nature three or four times a week, I wither and wilt. Not a pretty site, trust me.

  2. If I don’t get out in nature three or four times a week, I wither and wilt. Not a pretty site, trust me.

  3. Hello,

    Congratulations! Two awards have been bestowed upon you. Please visit the following link to receive them:

    http://matthiaschronicles.tanaya.net/Archives/2009/06/13/1244921588.shtml

    Thank you.

  4. Hello,

    Congratulations! Two awards have been bestowed upon you. Please visit the following link to receive them:

    http://matthiaschronicles.tanaya.net/Archives/2009/06/13/1244921588.shtml

    Thank you.

  5. I love being out in nature. I haven’t had a lot of opportunity since I moved here to California, but back in South Dakota I would love to go on slow country road trips and get out often. It does rejuvenate you. I miss that.

  6. I love being out in nature. I haven’t had a lot of opportunity since I moved here to California, but back in South Dakota I would love to go on slow country road trips and get out often. It does rejuvenate you. I miss that.

  7. I was out walking on a beach today, and try to get out in the woods as often as possible. It’s amazing, though, how alienated so many people are from the natural world–like when I say something about natural resources or ecology or the earth and someone says “well, I’m more concerned about PEOPLE”…as if they can be separated!

    Nice post…

  8. I was out walking on a beach today, and try to get out in the woods as often as possible. It’s amazing, though, how alienated so many people are from the natural world–like when I say something about natural resources or ecology or the earth and someone says “well, I’m more concerned about PEOPLE”…as if they can be separated!

    Nice post…


Categories

