Posted by: Lea | May 15, 2009

What Are Your Intentions?

I think that the majority of people, whether they are spiritual or not, understands that everything and everyone in this world is a creation. The question is, who or what is the source of creation, in other words, what or who is the creator?

Common religious names for the creator are God, Allah, Brahmin or Jehovah. Though I do believe there is a creator, I don’t use any of these terms when contemplating or referring to this force of creation. I think the reason for that is that though I’m on a spiritual journey, I am not religious and do not adhere to any particular religion. That is not to say that I haven’t studied certain aspects of the world religions, because I have. The difference is that I take the underlying truths found in each and discard what is not helpful to me on my journey.

Since the Kabbalah is mistakenly associated with Judaism, a Abrahamic religion, along with Christianity and Muslim, I was curious, yet hesitant to learn more about it. As odd as it may sound, at the time I enrolled in my current Kabbalah class, I was still hesitant to study it. What made me enroll anyway? I’m one of those people who believe that intuitive messages come not only from within ourselves, but can come through other people and sources. So when three different people, who do not know each other, sent me this Kabbalah course page, I knew this was something that was intended for me to pay attention to. So I enrolled and I have to say, their intuition was correct. I now sincerely feel the Kabbalah classes are the answer to my request for guidance on how to achieve my full potential and to contribute more to our world.

So what is the Kabbalah? The first thing that was stated in class was that the Kabbalah has nothing to do with religions and predates all religions. Also the Kabbalah has nothing to do with this world, it focuses only on the spiritual world. This is what I was looking for.

One wisdom discussed in class is that the Creator desires to give or bestow benefits to its creations.

The Creator is the desire to bestow, and the creature is the desire to enjoy the Creator’s bestowal. If the creature enjoys only because the Creator enjoys its reception, such an act is considered bestowal, according to its intention, and not as an act of receiving. This is regarded as the Creator’s desire and creature’s desire being equal, with nothing to separate them-Kabbalah For The Student

Sounds good, but why are so many of us struggling and suffering instead of receiving all the benefits that the creator has to give us? It depends on intentions; such as who’s benefit you are intending to fulfill.

The desire to receive for ourselves is our very nature. But in that nature, we are opposite in form from the Creator, since the Creator is only a desire to bestow, and does not possess a desire to receive. Hence, if we remain in the will to receive for ourselves, we will remain forever far from the Creator-Kabbalah For The Student

The example used in class was, two boys who were close friends grew up and went their separate ways to fulfill their life goals. One became wealthy, the other very poor. One day they met again on the street. The wealthy man greeted his childhood friend warmly and invited him to his house. At his house, he offered his poor friend food to eat. The poor friend refused. The wealthy man felt distraught because his friend wouldn’t accept his offering and implored his friend to accept. The poor man came to realize that by eating the food, he would give the wealthy man more pleasure than he would get from eating it. So the poor man ate.

The poor man changed his intention from one of receiving only for himself to one of receiving in order to give.

Perhaps now you can see how our natural desire to receive has lead to suffering. Receiving may bring us pleasure for a little while, but it doesn’t last. Have you heard the phrase, “give and take?” That’s what we need to practice, i.e. develop a desire to give that equals our desire to receive.

Responses

  1. That was a pleasure to read. I’m not religious either. Maybe spiritual a bit. Still learning 🙂

  2. That was a pleasure to read. I’m not religious either. Maybe spiritual a bit. Still learning 🙂

  3. Hi daughter of jacob…

    …I had an interesting situation which relates to this. Some years ago I completed a really excellent piece of work for someone. As a present for the work, the lady concerned offered me a holiday in New York. Frankly I was exhausted and so I declined, explaining that I was very grateful, but that what I really needed was to be alone for a few days, to gather myself together. The lady was resentful and became aggressive towards me.

    Obviously the present wasn’t for me, but was given in order for her to feel good.

    Should I have recognised her need to give for her own self-gratification and sacrificed my own need for solitude. Or should I have done what I did and put my own needs first?

    xhenry

    ps: Thanks for the visit 🙂

  4. Hi daughter of jacob…

    …I had an interesting situation which relates to this. Some years ago I completed a really excellent piece of work for someone. As a present for the work, the lady concerned offered me a holiday in New York. Frankly I was exhausted and so I declined, explaining that I was very grateful, but that what I really needed was to be alone for a few days, to gather myself together. The lady was resentful and became aggressive towards me.

    Obviously the present wasn’t for me, but was given in order for her to feel good.

    Should I have recognised her need to give for her own self-gratification and sacrificed my own need for solitude. Or should I have done what I did and put my own needs first?

    xhenry

    ps: Thanks for the visit 🙂


Categories

