Posted by: Lea | March 16, 2009

Using Journals for Self Healing

Do you keep a personal journal? I started writing my journal about six years ago and wish I had understood the value of keeping a journal much, much sooner.

Do you know that writing your thoughts, feelings, fears and so forth in a personal journal is good for your mental and emotional health? What’s more, it’s good for your personal growth by assisting your self exploration, removing blockages and connecting with your higher guidance.

My daughter is at the age now that I feel it would be good for her to start writing a personal journal for recording her thoughts, feelings and experiences. She’s very creative and draws as well as writes, but she seemed hesitant or uncertain about starting a journal. So I found a couple of books on the subject on Amazon that I felt would be helpful and ordered them.

I chose to start reading the book, “Journalution.  Journaling to Awaken Your Inner Voice, Heal Your Life and Manifest Your Dreams.” I have to say, I really like this book.

Though the author, Sandy Grason, offers suggestions, she avoids making them rules.  In chapter 1, under the subtitle Logistics, Sandy offers questions and answers such as :

Q.  Where Should I Journal?

A.  Journal everywhere!

Sandy then proceeds to give examples of how she carries her journal with her throughout her day and for what reasons, to help the reader get the idea.

Sandy goes through all the typical questions a person generally has on keeping a journal and offers various suggestions to help you find what makes you feel comfortable. She also offers prompts and exercises to help get your creative juices flowing such as, “Try This,” which can help you focus your thoughts if you’re feeling challenged to think of anything to write.

As I said, I’ve been keeping a journal for several years now and this book has given me added inspiration, as well as reinforces my freedom to write whatever, whenever and however I want, without feeling the need to adhere to any rules, methods or ideas of perfection. Sandy encourages, as I have always practiced, to release any fears you might have about writing your thoughts down and to write without judging what you wrote.

I’m thoroughly enjoying this book and highly recommend it. If you don’t keep a journal, you are missing out on one of the best free self healing techniques around. Did you know that many psychologists suggest keeping  journals to their patients?

If you haven’t tried journaling yet, this book will be a great help with getting started on your healing journey. If you already keep a journal, Journalution will help  you discover more about yourself and your life for your continuing healing process.

Responses

  1. I’ve kept a journal on and off since I was probably your daughter’s age. Another wonderful book I’d highly recommend is Life’s Companion: Journal Writing as a Spiritual Quest by Christina Baldwin.

  2. I like the title and will check it out 🙂 Thank you for sharing the information earthmother. Love & blessings

  3. Since I was young I used to have a personal journal for myelf and when I read it from time to time, I feel a combination of feelings that can’t be described. Now I’ve replaced it with my blog.

    I always appreciate your posts, Lea 🙂

  4. Thank you for your nice comment Hicham. I feel blogging is good therapy too; though one might not feel free to write all their thoughts and feelings, unless the blog is private. It’s always a pleasure, Hicham. Love & blessings to you 🙂

  5. Hi Lea Just stopping by to see what you’re up to and how things are going for you. I’ve been waiting to see my first Robin, but saw a Cardinal instead. I’m tired of looking at all those big black birds and will be so glad to see beautiful colors again this spring. I’m trying to decide on the type of flowers I’m going to plant. Take care of yourself and family…Jude


Categories

