Posted by: Lea | January 16, 2009

News Medias Deliberate Distortions

I know I have been posting a lot about TV and how it’s used to influence our thinking through the information those in control make available to us. This will be the last post on the subject. You might also be asking what this has to do with self improvement, personal growth or improving one’s life anyway?

If you think about it, isn’t truthful information an important ingredient in personal growth, self improvement and improving your life? Since we are all connected, community, state, country and the world, how can we make informed choices if the information we are given is distorted?

I don’t know about you, but I have been suspicious of various news shows for quite some time now. I got reinforcement of my suspicions from a source who had first hand experience with CNN.

While coming from India to the US in 2006, I was on a flight to my home state and became involved in conversation with a young man. I don’t remember how we started talking, but he told me his home was only a few miles from where I was going. I immediately picked up on his mannerism and asked him if he was military, to which he replied, “yes ma’am.” That’s sort of how I suspected he was military, his use of “ma’am” while talking to me, as well as a few other things.

The reason I am sharing this with you is because this young soldier was coming from Afghanistan and Germany. He told me his unit rotates between the two countries. I took the opportunity to ask him if he felt CNN was reporting the news of the war accurately. He immediately shook his head and said, “no ma’am.” He then proceeded to tell me how CNN had broadcast a report involving his unit in Afghanistan and everyone in the unit agreed that the report was a “lie.”

He then went on to tell me that CNN later wanted to do an interview with his comrades and himself. They all repeatedly refused to attend the interview. Finally, CNN contacted a high ranked officer (I don’t remember what rank now), after which these men were ordered to attend and be interviewed.

They attended the interview, but refuse to answer beyond “yes” or “no” replies. Apparently the CNN interviewer was frustrated, but was unable to get the soldiers to elaborate on their replies and CNN ended up scraping this interview footage. It never aired.

I am a stickler for the truth, even though sometimes it might be hard for me to see or to accept at first. The video’s and information is part of my quest for truth and my attempt to break through the lies and control of those who not only don’t know you or me, but could care less about us, other than how they can use us for their own gain.

The first video explains how news is filtered and if you are interested, the second video is two Fox journalists telling their story of how they resisted distortion of their report on health risks connected to milk that was adulterated with the artifical growth hormone, bovine. It has been proven that this hormone causes health issues in humans such as cancer.

Who Controls What You See in the News?

FOX News Whistle blowers. UNBELIEVABLE!!!

It’s mentioned in the video that there’s currently no law structured to prevent distortions in the news. I did several searches in an attempt to verify this. Despite using several different keywords, I was not able to find any laws requiring the complete or unadulterated truth in the news. It’s left to the “ethics” of the individuals reporting and publishing the news.

Several people suggest getting news from various sources instead of just one. What source do you use for unbiased news?

Responses

  1. Thank you for this piece. In my contact with news media, I have found the reporters to be obsessed with many things more than a truthful, careful story. This may be partially induced by their employer and the system, but it is still not an adequate excuse. Even as an unpaid writer for my blog, I feel it is necessary to check story accuracy with its sources after the writing is done. I don’t mean that they should edit or have a say about content, but there are often factual matters. It is also important to check one’s fact with realistic sources as well. When I see reports on areas where I know a lot, such as Tai Chi or computers, there are usually a number of major errors, most likely just due to lack of thoroughness in gathering and reviewing information.

    As far as political news, forget it. Fox is in fantasy world, while most other mainstream outlets are “white bread” with little substantial content. I don’t watch TV news. I listen to WNYC (via WNYC.org), a public radio station that includes NPR, PRI, BBC, and other quality sources.

  2. Unfortunately I don’t think there is an unbiased news source, even ones like NPR. Some have more blatant biases like Fox while others are slight. I personally used google news. That way you can click and get tens to hundreds of the same story but from different sources. I’ll read two or three and kind of average them. If it’s something I’m really interested in, then I’ll read several. It’s amazing how each story will have an added or deleted detail here or there.

  3. I stopped watching television years ago, so I can’t contribute to your conversation in that regard. But, here’s some alternative news sources online you might check out to help you find a non-corporate spin:

    rense.com
    newsmax.com
    emperors-clothes.com
    konformist.com
    thespectrumnews.com
    rumormillsnews.com
    whatreallyhappened.com
    tryfax.org
    alternewswire.com
    alternet.org
    disinfo.com
    theonion.com
    cyberspaceorbit.com
    nomorefakenews.com
    globalresearch.com
    globalcircle.com
    guerillanews.com
    zmag.org
    educateyourself.org
    altpress.org/direct.html

    An interesting read: Media Giants: Who Owns What?


Categories

