Posted by: Lea | January 7, 2009

Personal Power

I saw the movie Twilight over the weekend. I haven’t read the books in the series, but my sister wanted me to go to see this movie with her. She’s a big fan of the Twilight series and has been waiting impatiently for the movie to come to our area.

There is one scene in the movie where Alice sees a vision and starts drawing what she sees. When Bella questions the accuracy of her visions of the future, Jasper explains that unless the person involved changes their thinking or actions, the visions will come true. I don’t remember his exact lines, but that is the meaning of what he said.

This is the power each of us has. Each one of us has the capabilities to alter or completely change our future. All we need to do is accept our responsibility for what we are creating and either proceed in the direction our life is going in or change our direction.

Life pulls us in through pressures of responsibilities, financial worries, poor health or difficult relationships and anything that keeps us distracted, makes us forget that we have power and in turn we become powerless.

Negative thinking creates anger, worry and stress, I can’t do this, I don’t want that, etc. When your mind is full of this negative thinking, it breeds negative actions and creates negative experiences. You start to feel inadequate and powerless.

Focusing on gratitude and acceptance will bring back your power and allow you’re tunnel vision to broaden so that you will be able to see opportunities and options that you might overlook if your mind remained filled with these negative thoughts causing you misery.

When Bill Gates was asked if he could create software that would make computers more user friendly, I wouldn’t be posting this to my website if his mind was too cluttered with negative thoughts to be able to see this as an opportunity, even though at the time he most likely didn’t know windows would be the result.

And I am pretty sure he has gratitude for that opportunity.

Responses

  1. Great article. I definitely value gratitude and training the mind to think in a useful way, especially when it comes to challenges, stress and worry as you have said. Gratitude puts you into a frame of acceptance, forward focus and even love. After all, those are the things that make personal power fully activated in life. Great post!

  2. Wonderful points, Lea!! Thanks for putting this out to remind us.
    Blessings to you and all you hold dear,
    CG

  3. This is so true and so easy to forget when we are in the middle of a big mess we created ourselves. I know eventually I will remember that I created the mess I am in and then begin to change it to what I really want. It seem that even though we know this we need to be reminded every so often so we don’t forget. Thanks for sharing this.

    Love and Blessings,
    AngelBaby


Categories

