Posted by: Lea | December 16, 2008

Inner Reflections

From time to time in our life, we find ourselves in circumstances that we aren’t happy with. It doesn’t matter how we got there, we just want to change it for the better and work towards that aim. Sometimes though, I get impatient waiting to see the results of my efforts. When this happens, I have to remind myself that it takes time for everything to fall into place and so I have a talk with myself.

Here are some of the things I remind myself when I’m having my self talk. Perhaps you will find them helpful too.

It won’t always be this way.

  • The one constant in life is that nothing stays the same.
  • This is a world of duality/opposites, negatives/positives. Because of this, our lives are cycles of harmony and disharmony, happiness/sadness, good times and not so good times.
  • It’s up to you whether you resist and suffer or accept and ride the roller coaster of life for the thrill.

Life is good and it’s getting better all the time

  • Whether you are able to see this or not doesn’t matter. It’s happening all the same.
  • Notice the little things that makes life good. Being grateful feeds those positives and makes them abundant.

Even though you might feel a need for something more in your life, give thanks/gratitude for what you do have.

  • There are people living on the streets. If you have shelter, be thankful.
  • Not everyone has adequate food. Be grateful if you have food to sustain you.
  • A bed to sleep in. When I first got my apartment after leaving my abusive husband, I didn’t have any furniture and had to sleep on the floor. I survived the experience and “life got better.”

Things to be grateful for ranges from the littlest things we take for granted to the significant, they are all blessings that have been given to us, even if just for a little while.

What do you tell yourself when you’re feeling down, frustrated, afraid or impatient and what are you grateful for?

Responses

  1. Whenever I sense negative energy coming on, I promptly ask myself how the Dalai Lama or Mother Theresa would respond to the source of my discomfort. I find I am much better able to detach from emotion and view my conditions with new senses. This kind of mental exercise enables me to realize how I am observer and participant in my own life. I raise awareness and consciousness while I release those kinds of energy that do not serve me. I feel lighter, more loving and closer to a fearless mental state.

  2. Hi Liara

    What wonderful role models you have chosen, I will have to try that. Thank you so much for sharing, I found it inspirational and I’m sure others will too.

    Have a wonderful day.

  3. I love this post so much that I have to comment, again. My husband and I currently have dreams that we are working towards, but we can’t have them tomorrow. We’re both working towards them very hard, but there have been times where we’ve been frustrated that they aren’t arriving sooner.

    So it’s good for us to remind ourselves that we ARE doing all we can to achieve our goals, and we are steadily getting closer.

    But even better, we’re big fans of the phrase “This too shall pass.” I think that, more than most anything, helps us get by when we’re frustrated 🙂 Not to mention, like what you said, recognizing the things we are grateful for, which are many.

  4. Hi Lea M

    I visited your site and can relate to what you’re going through, as I’m sure many people can.

    It is difficult to do something that’s necessary, but not what we prefer to do, in order to achieve the change we want. But it sounds as though you’re able to put it all into perspective.

    Acceptance of the moment, along with gratitude and knowledge that things are changing, are key elements.

    Thank you for sharing and have a great day.


Categories