Posted by: Lea | December 12, 2008

Egos Delusion

Have you ever noticed the thoughts that run through your mind at any given moment? Most people don’t. They go through each day completely lost in their thoughts.

Meditation is good for making you aware of your mind’s activity. You will notice how much it resists being quieted and how it persists with random and repeated thoughts. This process of the same thoughts over and over makes me think of a train that keeps going around the tracks in circles, going no where.

You are what you think. This of course, means that whatever you think, you will act out and manifest the same in return. The same goes for You reap what your sow.  What is being sowed is thoughts that can be good or bad. Are you consciously making a choice as to the kind of thoughts you are sowing?

If you are fearful or feel that someone has victimized you in some way, then you will unconsciously behave like a victim and in turn people will repeatedly victimize you. If you are angry or resentful, then you will be easily agitated and possibly hostile, because you carry the memory of a past pain or anger. Only you can change your thinking and how you perceive yourself and the world around you.

When a person first starts to observe their thoughts, they’re surprised by how many thoughts come automatically and are continuous repeats of “my sad story” mode of thinking. Many people are unaware of this and become possessed by these thoughts.

Eckhart Tolle referred to this as part of The inherited human mental dysfunction  that he feels started with Adam and Eve’s thoughts creating a desire for the knowledge of good and evil even after God warned them against it.

The Hindu’s call it maya or the veil of delusion. The Hindu sage Ramana Maharshi phrased it as, The mind is maya. Buddha’s term for this human condition is dukkha, which means suffering, unable to be satisfied or misery.

Thoughts are merely observations that our mind molds into beliefs, sometimes under the guidance of ego.

Responses

  1. I know I don’t always leave a comment, but I always enjoy reading your posts when I get over this way because they always make such good sense and your always right on the mark. Have a great day and thanks for your kind comment at my blog.

  2. Hi Jude

    Nice to see you again and thank you. I’m glad you like my articles and I appreciate you letting me know. Many blessings 😀

  3. This is so true, we create our lives with our thoughts. Then we when talk about our ills we manifest more of the same. I have tried to explain this to people but they don’t always understand until they try it. Then it makes sense to them and they change their thinking. We need to be reminded often about our thoughts because it is so easy to slip back into our old ways. Thank you for sharing this.

    Love and Blessings,
    AngelBaby

  4. Hi AngelBaby

    I know what you mean. When I first started on my journey, I was told that it’s normal to take two steps forward and one step back. You do make progress, but it’s slow and it’s easy to slip.

    Have a blessed weekend!


Categories

