Posted by: Lea | November 21, 2008

Does Positive Thinking Work With Karma?

Vedic astrologers believe that 75% of our lives are influenced by destiny, otherwise known as karma, leaving 25% that we can influence through our will and actions.

Now before you either scoff at this or blame your poorly positioned planets as the reason for your lot in life, let’s take a look at it from a another perspective.

First let us acknowledge that famous and successful people have certain planet placements and aspects that do help point the way for them. Planetary influences at the time of birth can have an affect on a person’s thinking process, as in being able to see opportunities and take advantage of them, possible health problems, relationship problems and so forth.

So if you feel life is particularly challenging to you and after taking a look at your birth chart, you say “aha,” I have to say, you still have the power to influence your life in positive ways. After all, its all energy, right? Besides, karma are issues or conditions we are suppose to work through for knowledge and truth.

I’m not a supporter of any thinking that consists of, “My horoscope says my day, month, year or life is going to be unhappy, filled with poverty,” or whatever, “so there’s nothing I can do to change it.”

I had a friend whose Sun sign is the same as mine. She felt that since Geminis were described as “air heads,” because our minds jump from one thought to another so quickly that many times we lose track mid conversation, causing us to either stop talking mid sentence or to ramble. Instead of taking that to mean that as a Gemini she needed to learn to focus her mind and thoughts, she felt she had a reason or an excuse for scattered thoughts. This is okay if your relaxing and just letting your mind go, but not advised when trying to hold a conversation or discussion.

Astrology is not meant to be used as an excuse to avoid strengthening your weaknesses or self improvement. Astrology is simply a tool to help you understand what energy influences are taking place in as far as personal tendencies and different areas of your life at certain times.

If they are positive energies, then you will find it easier to accomplish your goals or tasks and if they are negative, then it means you will have to put more effort into that area or there might be delays.

During times of challenging energy influences, should you just give up and give in to it?

You might want to read related articles on how to attract positive energy, which can help with accepting the present and coping better with events in your life. Harmony and Abundance discusses the importance of gratitude, The Three Vibrations of Consciousness Part I discusses acceptance, The Three Vibrations of Consciousness Part II discusses enjoyment and The Three Vibrations of Consciousness Part III discusses enthusiasm.

Even though Vedic Astrologers believe that 75% of our lives is destiny, they also believe that during malefic or negative energy influences, we still can attract the the beneficial or positive energy to us by wearing specific gemstones, saying prayers, use mantras, meditating and performing Yogas.

I love wearing lovely gemstones, but many tend to be expensive. Thank goodness the positive energy created from positive thoughts is free, as is prayer, mantras and meditation. Even with wearing gemstones, it helps to keep your thoughts positive, loving and accepting of the moment.

Remember, in this world, change is a constant. What you might not be able to implement today, could easily be possible tomorrow. Being aware of your thoughts and readjusting them as needed will help with feelings of frustration and pessimism and increase patience.

To create positives in the mist of negatives, try practicing

  1. Gratitude
  2. Acceptance
  3. Enjoyment
  4. Enthusiasm
  5. Meditation
  6. Exercise

You will most likely discover that you develop more patience as you practice acceptance and meditation

When first starting, don’t try to reach for the moon; build your stairway to heaven one step (goal) at a time.



Responses

  1. Wonderful, inspiring words Lea. I have often met people who use their horoscopes in the way that you have described. As A teenager i was guilty of actively persuing the personality that a typical Virgo is supposed to have including the positives and the negatives.

    Now I understand that I have complete control over all areas of my life and I can be aboslutely anything I want to be by simply looking inward and lisiting to the higer self.

  2. Hi carol

    Some people forget that astrology is only a tool. It’s not a life sentence, unless they choose it to be by not growing as a person and a being of light.

    Thank you carol for sharing your thoughts and experiences on this. Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Funny I have always tried to look inward and find truth and strength and sometimes it works, but only if I let the me me’s and I I’s go. The ego never finds what it looks for and always finds fault with the world outside and is very good at crushing anything in the path. I use to be an avid watcher of astrological signs and what may or may not happen. I let all of that go a long time ago and concentrated on positive energy, but when I’m overly tired the only energy that flows is negative. I always enjoy reading your posts even though I don’t always get the full effect. I’m hoping your energy is being renewed because mine is after talking to my son tonight.

  4. Hi Jude

    It does seem to be the tendency to feel negative when we are feeling low energy and/or we are not feeling well. We seem to be more vulnerable to negative thoughts and feelings during such times. That’s the time I know I have to take a break to rest a little and get myself re-centered.

    I’m so glad to hear that you’re feeling re energized now. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. I wish you a wonderful weekend filled with many blessings.

  5. Feeling gratitude instantly changes the way I see things.

  6. i love reading your posts lea. just had to say that… 🙂

  7. Hi Thiru

    Gratitude really does help with accepting the present and having more patience. Regardless of changes we might want to make in our lives, it helps tremendously if we accept and find ways to even enjoy this moment.

    Thank you for sharing Thiru. Have a great weekend!

  8. Hi PJ

    Thank you PJ. I appreciate the feedback. Have a wonderful weekend!


Categories

