Posted by: Lea | October 30, 2008

Pondering

clouds, sky, angels

I’ve been thinking about the various beliefs that people have regarding whether there is a God or not. There are many thoughts, theories and beliefs on the subject and I wonder if its possible that all of them hold a piece of the whole truth.

I grew up attending church with my mother, so I was taught the Christian beliefs of that church. I stopped going in my early teens, because I was never able to feel a connection with this God and other than the ten commandments and a few other concepts, I wasn’t able to see where the Bible applied to the reality of modern day life. Seeing hypocrisy in the elders and members of the church didn’t help my perspective either.

After marriage and starting a family, I started feeling a need for something more in my life. More than a husband, children, money and material things. Something was lacking inside me and I wanted to fill that need. My thoughts went to the possibility that though I still felt leary of churches, the reason for that could have been because the membership didn’t practice what they preached in my mother’s church. After voicing my interest to try to find a good church to my husband, we started scouting churches in search of truth. Some we would attend only once or twice, others would less than a month.

I didn’t realize in my youth, that I unconsciously assess my surroundings by how the energy feels to me. I wasn’t getting positive energy from the churches we attended.

I don’t know how much sense this will make to many of you who read this. It’s hard for me to explain and I really didn’t understand it myself until I became acquainted with terms like energy vibrations, empathy and Clairsentience.

It wasn’t just the energy surrounding the churches that deterred me, as my mind is quite capable of disregarding any subtle energy input. What I found most disturbing was how sermons were being used to influence political views, pass judgment on people with different lifestyles, encourage prejudices against other churches, differing beliefs and so on. Something inside me would rise up whenever I heard such things and still does today.

To me this is another example of the narrow mindedness of people and their lack of vision. They take a piece of knowledge and proclaim they alone possess knowledge and truth. Then without any questions, the masses bow to them as being superior. Well, I’m sorry but, they don’t have the complete knowledge or the whole truth. I don’t think any of us do, just some of us have more knowledge than others. And their knowledge didn’t particularly come  from religious books or sermons, but mostly from seeking, exploring, questioning and experiencing the truth for themselves.

Now we have the Quantum theory, Creative Intelligence theory and atheists, along with religions and philosophies. My own concept of God is one of formlessness and creative energy. So, quite possibly I am somewhere in the middle of these theories and beliefs. So I ponder, can these differing theories and beliefs all hold pieces of the whole truth?

Responses

  1. Lea, religion is a subject that I stay away from, because I believe differently from the masses, and the subject tends to get people really upset, even those that don’t attend church. But when I read your article, it could have easily been something that I had written, and I agree with you completely.

    Without going into a lengthy discussion, which this is not the place for, I believe the Bible is a book of metaphors, more than actual events. God, or the Higher Power, or whatever name you choose to use, is neither man nor woman, but is made of the light and energy of love, and we are all truly connected and a part of a whole. God is not something that we should fear, as we are as much a part of God, as our own arm or leg is to us.

    I’m going to stop there, because I truly could easily write my own book on the subject.

    Religion is another form of control, and like you I believe the real truth is from portions of all of them.

  2. Hi searchingwithin

    You stated that very well . I too normally avoid topics of religion and politics as so many people’s ego identify with them, thus the ‘I’m right, you’re wrong’ kind of thinking and disagreements.

    I’m not trying to convert people to my thinking or beliefs, especially if they already have their own beliefs. Since the prevalent human behavior is to stop searching for knowledge and truth once we feel we have found it, I would like to see more people question the knowledge and authority that some people claim to have.

    The truth is in all of us and we shouldn’t feel that we have to blindly accept what another person states as truth.

    Thank you for sharing searchingwitin. Have a great day filled with many blessings.

  3. Now everyone is talking about the American economy and elections, nice to read something different. Eugene

  4. I can’t speak for any other belief method or religion, except Christianity. I have watch Christianity over the years separate itself from the entire premise of why it was even started.. Many Christians have taken Christ out of Christianity. Along with this is the fact that Christian History has portrayed Christianity as everything but what it is and the large number of divergent sect all saying “they” are the way is ridiculous.

    As a Bishop, I have dealt with this mess for quite a while and find it disturbing and disgusting. Because of this nonsense, the home church has re-emerged stronger then ever attempting to return to the fundamental precepts of a Christ center belief system. Not an easy task with the TV churches doing everything they can to undermine any church that doesn’t bow to their will.

  5. Hello Mar Matthias Darin

    That is why I suggested that people need to question instead of blindly following whoever says things such as “I or we are right and everyone else is wrong,” or “you can’t do this or that,” or “you have to do this,” etc.

    Also, people should not accept another person’s beliefs or interpretations as their own without question and seeking their own answers.

    We are all part of the whole, but we were given individual thought processes and my understanding of a piece of truth will most likely be different than yours.

    If we all would learn to live our lives from the center of love, we would see that our varying interpretations and beliefs really doesn’t matter overall, other than to ourselves.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings on this Mar Matthias Darin. Have a great day filled with many blessings.

  6. “If we all would learn to live our lives from the center of love, we would see that our varying interpretations and beliefs really doesn’t matter overall, other than to ourselves.”

    I had to quote that part Lea as that, I feel, is the absolute truth!

  7. Hi. How are you? It’s nice to read your blog. Keep on working on it. So, I drop EC for you. Don’t forget to Keep on Smiling. Salaam.

  8. Hi lea,
    I think this post was written about me. LOL! I grew up the same way and saw the things that you saw and felt those same feelings towards the catholic church. I feel there is a connection somewhat between all religions. It is like we are all flowers in a garden. I feel like you do though that God is a light, an energy that is in all of us and we are all connected by that. Some of us just chose different paths to get to that place of being in touch with our light. I learned in college most religions were formed for social control. I think in this day and age we don’t need that control, that there is a new thinking and more unconditional love than ever before. Thanks for sharing .
    Janet 🙂

  9. Hi Janet

    Very well stated Janet and I agree. Life is a continuous learning process of discovering who we are and our true inner potential. Unfortunately, few religions offer the keys for exploring these and will ridicule those that do.

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences. Have a great weekend filled with many blessings

  10. Lea, I always avoid discussing religion in the form of ‘debate’ not merely because the majority of people are narrow-minded but mainly because it’s not a war to win or to proof who’s better.

    I however welcome the discussion in the form of open minded as mentioned in your post..

    I always wonder and ponder and this is sometimes not welcomed by radicals, away from what I believe in, because they don’t want people to ask.

    The problem with religion -whatever- is simply when people tried interpreting it to validate their acts or ‘kill in the name of God’ and God didn’t order people to kill, regardless the religion, rather their was a message of love which seems faded in this world.

    I hope I didn’t post a long comment, yet it seems I did 🙂

  11. Hi Hicham

    I know what you mean, religion and politics tend to be discussions that easily turn into arguments and wars.

    History is proof of man’s ability to take any thought or concept and twist it to suit their own desires, discrimination and hidden motives. For some reason the majority of people would rather follow like sheep than to “ponder,” ask inner questions and discover truth for themselves.

    Love is lost when people become preoccupied with who is right and who is wrong.

    BTW, I love long comment discussions and thank you for sharing your views. They add value to the subject in the post.

    Have a great day filled with many blessings

  12. indeed and you know what? I felt sorrow for all of us, humans, because we are waisting our time in such horrible stuff.

    Animals, at least, don’t do this however they have no minds like us, they have brains 🙂

  13. Hi Hicham

    Yes, the current state of humans is a sad one. People tend to complicate life more than it really needs to be. This is mostly through identity with ego and an endless desire for possessions.

    I believe in this case, animals have it right. They concern themselves only with simply filling their basic needs.

    People would find themselves wealthier if they focused on what they truly need instead of what manufacturers say they need. All anyone has to do before buying is ask, “Do I really need this?” and then ask, “Will this add value to my life?”

    Once I started doing this, though I still would admire various products, I was amazed at how much less I was actually buying and I did not feel deprived of anything.

    Thank you so much Hicham for sharing your thoughts and knowledge.

    Have a wonderful day!


Categories

